My Kids Are Still in Public School

I have been gone from posting for a long while. In the world of blogs, dropping the ball for four months probably means I’m starting again from scratch. In the meantime, I have switched the blog to WordPress and lost my writing partner. Mark took a position as a principal of a Christian school, so he is a little busy.

There is still so much to talk about with parenting kids in public schools though, so lets continue this conversation. If you have any challenges you would like addressed or anything that has been helpful, please comment. That will help me to know what to address and will also help others.

I am the director of our small church’s children’s ministry and there is much I am learning there that I hope will help in our discussion. I now realize how important it is for churches to teach families how to disciple their kids (grow their faith). You should not trust your child’s spiritual growth completely to Sunday school. We only have 40-60 minutes with them each week at the very most. You, as parents, have many more hours to leverage, but may not feel you have the skills to do it. I hope to make that skill building part of my upcoming posts because we all want to send our kids into public school with adequate spiritual strength, but need help and encouragement to do it!

I am not perfect at this and don’t want anyone to feel pressured or overwhelmed to be perfect in your pursuit to prepare your kids. I just believe this is a good topic to explore and continue to grow in so I can give my kids the best chance to thrive as Christians in public school.

I send my blessings and hope to post again soon!

About Shawna Wright

Shawna Wright has three daughters currently in 4th, 7th, and 9th grades. While she graduated college with a degree in Chemical Engineering, she chose to stay home and begin raising her family. She and her husband, Michael, purposefully chose to put their children in the public school system with much prayer and perseverance. Shawna volunteers in the local school district. She is also a hobby web designer, writer, speaker, graphic artist and Director of Communications at her church. Her heart's desire is to be a light in her community and help her own children to be lights in theirs.
This entry was posted in Articles, Christians, Disciple, Kids, Parenting, Public School. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My Kids Are Still in Public School

  1. Ellen Chris Edson says:

    My heart swells to know you are continuing with your writing and blogging. You have so much energy and ambition. Please keep it up, Shawna. Ellen

Leave a comment