Starting Over…Again

2013-10-29 13.39.23It is has been awhile since I last posted. I don’t want anyone to think that I have given up all hope of continuing with this site. I have recently rediscovered my love for writing through a crazy adventure called “NaNoWriMo” or “National Novel Writing Month”. I figured out that I really can make time for writing. Apparently that is what “turning off the inner editor” will do and writing 20,000 words in 13 days. However, what I am probably back here just to stall writing more words for my “novel.” Fiction is tricky!

Anyway, it is time I touched base and made excuses for myself for not writing lately. We moved to Montana in May, but the entire last year has been a blur in a “what’s happening, my world is turning upside down” sort of way. We have finally settled into a permanent home. (The five of us lived in 590 square feet for two months and moved again before the end of the summer.) Everyone has started new schools and by the grace of God, all three of my kids are doing well and finding their way in this new world.  Maybe now I can carve out some time to write?

Turns out, if I embrace this change, there are actually many things that I will struggle through in the next year or so that might actually be more beneficial for you guys!

New Faces = Making New Connections

We are starting over with our presence in the public schools. No one know us here. None of the students say, “Hey, there’s Tegan’s mom!” in the hallway anymore. All those relationships I built with the kids in my kids’ classrooms are gone. How do I start over? Perhaps my struggle to do that will help others to jump in wherever they are and to get creative about how to do it.

New District = New Methods and Motivations

We were just getting used to the way things worked in our school district back in Washington. I had argued with all the teachers and principals and gained an understanding of why they do the things they do, and now I must do it again. Everything is different here. At least I can be compassionate of different district atmospheres now and I have a second chance to make first impressions.

New Job = New Ideas for Time and Family

Too make things a little more complicated, I got a job. A real one that I have actual hours each week in an office and I even get paid! I had jobs before we moved, but they were a bit random and I had a ton of volunteer obligations as well. This particular job felt like a true gift from God, so I felt very good about taking it and I am loving it. I think that it is actually better for my kids that I have it too. I am such a busy person and God knew I needed a place to use that energy or I would be sucked under. The job “just happened” to be posted in our church bulletin over the summer and I “just happened” to have the skills they needed. It has been an adjustment to have a regular schedule to keep at work, but being able to leave the work at work has been a profound benefit for our family. I should now be able to better address two income family situations and how to squeeze in volunteering or family activities into days that are already packed with work.

New Direction = New Perspective and Scope

We are now in a “college town” and our hearts go out to the students that have come to college with questions about their faith. They get a different world view shoved on them and don’t know what to do. With our own daughter in high school this year, we have a new perspective on the importance of preparing our kids for living in the world with a durable Christian worldview.

I am sure there are other ways that our new family situation will help me to write again so I can encourage you all to keep up the fight in equipping your kids to wade through the secular atmosphere of public schools. I’m not perfect at it by any means, so we can continue to learn together.

 

 

About Shawna Wright

Shawna Wright has three daughters currently in 4th, 7th, and 9th grades. While she graduated college with a degree in Chemical Engineering, she chose to stay home and begin raising her family. She and her husband, Michael, purposefully chose to put their children in the public school system with much prayer and perseverance. Shawna volunteers in the local school district. She is also a hobby web designer, writer, speaker, graphic artist and Director of Communications at her church. Her heart's desire is to be a light in her community and help her own children to be lights in theirs.
This entry was posted in Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

